History of DCYC

Where It All Began

In 1956, twelve families worked together to establish a sailing club on Lake Lewisville. In so doing, they established a great legacy for the generations to come. 

These pages are dedicated to David Patterson, Carolyn Patterson Janssen, Leslie Maynard, and all the other members who lived this history and who take so seriously their roles as the stewards of that legacy.

Member Stories

A. B. Patterson:  "History of the Dallas Corinthian Yacht Club"

Don Massey: "Reminiscence"

Al Spalding:  Letter describing  founding of Club

Marion Backstrom & Joe Schribner:  "DCYC History Rich in Tradition"

Richard & Jane Leavitt: "Remebering DCYC"

Richard Leavitt: "The Merger of Yacht Harbor Sailing Club with DCYC"

Randall Massey: "Outings for Children with Cancer"

Bob Shiels: "The Story of the Tiger Cats' Arrival at DCYC"

Randall Massey: "NARCA Southwest Regional Championship"

Randall Massey: "DCYC History as I Remember It"

Related Links

Commodores of DCYC

The Hailer archives

Origins of the Al Schlitz Beer Can Regatta

DCYC Awards & Trophies

Arthur P. Nazro Memorial Trophy Award

Jim Johnson Award

William T. Hart Award

John Harris Memorial Award

Kelly Holmes-Moon Memorial Award